Engineering a Balanced Diet? Hormone FGF21 Promotes Protein Preference

May 13, 2019

To function daily, your body gleans energy from three food-derived macronutrients: carbohydrates, fats and proteins. How you divvy up those macronutrients in your diet is a matter of personal preference. But what if you could train your brain to prefer one macronutrient over the other? In a study appearing in EndocrinologyRyan and her colleagues, including Molecular, Cellular and Integrative Physiology Ph.D.

Discovering Curiosity: Fighting Neuromuscular Disorders with New Faculty Lucas Smith

April 18, 2019

In debilitating neuromuscular disorders, like muscular dystrophies and cerebral palsy, the body’s muscles scar, turning fibrotic and stiff. “What’s not really understood is how the scar tissue ends up making such a stiff muscle,” said Assistant Professor Lucas Smith, Department of Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior. “For us, it might take intense exercise or resistance training to cause a bit of damage, which elicits a regenerative response. In dystrophic conditions, just typical muscle contractions can damage the muscle and that chronic injury leads to fibrosis.”

UC Davis Research on Gravity Predates Men Landing on the Moon 50 Years Ago

October 22, 2018
NASA has invested millions of dollars in UC Davis research, working with UC Davis biologists, engineers, physiologists, psychologists and other researchers to study life in space — whether that be studying space itself, the effects of gravity, getting there, staying there or surviving there.

From Molecules to Minds: UC Davis neuroscientists advance learning and memory research to decode how our brains work

August 21, 2018
How does learning occur? And how do we remember what we learn? These are the fundamental questions researchers at the UC Davis Center for Neuroscience are asking. To find answers, they’re investigating the brain at many levels—from the smallest molecules that make our brains work to the thought patterns that give our world meaning.